Want to Thank an Extraordinary Nurse? Now You Can!

The DAISY Award Logo INTER

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses has been adopted by healthcare facilities around the world to celebrate nurses for their extraordinary care and compassion.  Anderson Hospital is proud to now offer this outstanding program!  We thought it fitting to launch our program on the first day of National Nurses Week – a celebration that recognizes the extraordinary, compassionate care nurses provide patients and families every day. 

Patients, families and colleagues may nominate nurses by sharing stories and submitting examples of how they were so special.  Awards are presented throughout the year at celebrations attended by the Honoree’s colleagues, patients, and visitors.  Each Honoree receives a certificate commending her/him as an "Extraordinary Nurse."  The certificate reads: "In deep appreciation of all you do, who you are, and the incredibly meaningful difference you make in the lives of so many people."  Honorees also receive a DAISY Award pin and a beautiful and meaningful sculpture called A Healer’s Touch, hand-carved by artists of the Shona Tribe in Zimbabwe.

The DAISY Foundation is a not-for-profit organization, established in memory of J. Patrick Barnes, by members of his family.  Patrick died at the age of 33 in late 1999 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP), a little known but not uncommon auto-immune disease. (DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System.)  The care Patrick and his family received from nurses while he was ill inspired this unique means of thanking nurses for making a profound difference in the lives of their patients and patient families.

Said Bonnie Barnes, FAAN, Doctor of Humane Letters (h.c) and Co-Founder of The DAISY Foundation, "When Patrick was critically ill, our family experienced first-hand the remarkable skill and care nurses provide patients every day and night. Yet these unsung heroes are seldom recognized for the super-human, extraordinary, compassionate work they do.  The kind of work the nurses are called on to do every day epitomizes the purpose of The DAISY Award.”

“We are proud to be among the healthcare organizations participating in The DAISY Award program," said Lisa Spencer, Anderson Hospital Chief Nursing and Chief Operating Officer.  "Nurses are heroes every day.  It is important that our nurses know their work is highly valued.  The DAISY Foundation provides one way for us to recognize them.”  

In addition to the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses, the Foundation expresses gratitude to the nursing profession internationally in over 5,000 healthcare facilities and schools of nursing with recognition of Nurse-led Teams, Nurse Leaders, Nurses Advancing Health Equity, Nursing Faculty, Nursing Students, Lifetime Achievement in Nursing and through the J. Patrick Barnes Grants for Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice Projects, Medical Mission Grants and their new Health Equity Grant programs. More information is available at http://DAISYfoundation.org.            



To thank a nurse at Anderson Hospital scan the QR code below:


Pregnancy After Loss Support Group To Begin


Pregnancy after loss is a unique experience of grief and joy that requires recognition from family, friends, peers, and professionals.

Our SHARE group is now offering a support group for moms pregnant again after a loss looking for connection with peers and professionals.

Our first meeting will be Wednesday, May 18, in the Education Department (basement of Physician Office Building/6812 State Route 162, Maryville, IL)  from 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.

For more information, you may contact Barbara Donahue at 618-391-5984.

Anderson Hospital Foundation Welcomes New Members


The Anderson Hospital Foundation recently welcomed three new members to its Board of Directors!

  • Jason Geminn, Prairie Farms Dairy, Inc., Chief Financial Officer
  • Joseph Newman, Newman Carriers, Inc., President
  • Nancy LeVault, Anderson Auxiliary, President

Jason Geminn is an SIUE alumnus and joined Prairie Farms in 2010.  In 2015 he was promoted to Chief Financial Officer where he now oversees the company’s Finance, Risk Management, and IT functions.   Geminn has served on various Company boards and also previously served on Southern Illinois University Edwardsville’s Accounting Advisory Board. 

Joe Newman is a lifelong resident of Edwardsville.  His transport company, Newman Carriers, Inc., has 2 main terminals in Fairmont City, IL and Kankakee, IL, operating in 48 states, Canada and Mexico.  He currently serves on several other boards including the executive board of the Illinois Trucking Association and Busey Bank Advisory Board.

Nancy LeVault is the 2022/2023 President of the Anderson Hospital Auxiliary.  After retiring from her roles in Education which included teacher, principal and director of education for the Granite City School Distict; LeVault took a part-time role as Senior Volunteer Director for Southwestern Illinois College.  LeVault holds memberships on many area boards including United Way of Greater St. Louis, Granite City Rotary Club and Maryville Improvement Committee.    

The Anderson Hospital Foundation encourages charitable gifts that support and advance the quality of health care provided by Anderson Hospital. As a not-for profit, tax-exempt philanthropic corporation, the Foundation allocates funds for capital projects and programs for Anderson Hospital as they provide and promote excellence in healthcare and wellness service in partnership with the communities they serve.

Since 1977, Anderson Hospital has responded to the needs of Madison County Residents. Each new service and every expansion has been in direct response to community needs. Some of Anderson’s most recent additions include: 24/7 Cardinal Glennon Pediatrics, 24/7 Cardiac Cath Team, Chest Pain Center and DaVinci Surgical System. Gifts to the Anderson Hospital Foundation are considered gifts of support from the community, gifts that acknowledge the importance of preserving and enhancing the health status of our community.

Anderson Hospital Foundation Board of Directors:

Dr. Max Eakin, Co-Chair

Jason Weiss, Co-Chair

Mark Shashek, Secretary

Michael Marshall, Treasurer

Keith Page, Director

Nancy LeVault, Director

Jason Geminn, Director

Joseph Newman, Director

Lendell Phelps, Director

Jeff Westerhold, Director